preloder

Explain the difference between deactivating and freezing a user record.

Freezing a user account will temporarily prevent a user from logging in (e.g. during a maintenance window, or if configuration prevents user deactivation).  Frozen users are still active, but they cannot log in.

Marking the user as inactive completely revokes access, and recovers the license(s) that user was assigned.  That user will not be able to log in, and can no longer be assigned records.

User records cannot be deleted, they can only be deactivated.

Resources for this Objective

Resource
Priority
Type
Length
Author
Overview of Salesforce.com User Records

ARVE Error: API endpoint returned a 403 error. This can occur when a video has embedding disabled or restricted to certain domains.

10m
CertifiedOnDemand.com
Freeze & deactivation discussed

ARVE Error: API endpoint returned a 403 error. This can occur when a video has embedding disabled or restricted to certain domains.

ARVE Error: API endpoint returned a 403 error. This can occur when a video has embedding disabled or restricted to certain domains.

Deactivating (Deleting) User Accounts
Medium
Salesforce.com
Watch “Removing Users’ Access to Salesforce (Salesforce Classic)”
Freezing User Accounts
Short
Salesforce.com
“Let’s say a user just left your company. You want to deactivate the account, but the user is selected in a custom hierarchy field. Because you can’t immediately deactivate the account, you can freeze it in the meantime.”
Considerations for Deactivating Users
Medium
Salesforce.com
“A deactivated user doesn’t count against your organization’s available user licenses.”

Feedback:

Notify of